Visit the main CICH web site »

Children and Youth in Canada - The Context of their Lives

Children and youth make up a substantial portion of the Canadian population. They are a very diverse group – not only with regards to their culture, ethnicity, family structure, experiences – but also with regards to their living conditions and opportunities. There are numerous factors shaping the experiences of children and youth in Canada. In this module you will find population and demographic data describing who the children and youth are and where they live. As well, this module contains facts and figures presenting the diverse backgrounds of children and youth in Canada, their family life, economic security, education and health outcomes.



Genetics and Paediatric Health

This module begins with a Genetics Primer that explains genetic concepts such as the genome, inheritance, genes, and DNA. The module goes on to provide a brief examination of the incidence and prevalence of gene-related conditions in Canada. It then describes how genetic services are organized in Canada and the resulting implications for children and families.

Genetic testing and screening are considered in detail to provide the reader with both an understanding of these concepts and an appreciation of the genetic testing and screening programs and technology that are available in Canada.

The module continues with a description of prevalence and trends of congenital anomalies and an investigation of some of the congenital anomalies that are most common among children.

Genetics is a burgeoning field, so the module concludes with a discussion of some of the emerging issues in genetics that are influencing genetics and children’s health and wellbeing.



Primary Health Care Services for Children and Youth in Canada: Access, Quality and Structure

This Module describes the state of primary care among children and youth in Canada, including the structure of primary care delivery, changes under reform, and funding for other primary health care services such as eye and dental care across provinces and territories. It capitalizes on existing data and measures to report on the quality of primary care for children in Canada.



Health Profile on Immigrant and Refugee Children and Youth in Canada

Canadian children and youth are culturally and linguistically diverse, bringing many different strengths, attributes and needs to their communities. Overall, children and youth who are recent immigrants fare well in Canada in terms of health status. However, the overall population of immigrant and refugee children and youth is not homogeneous - and certain groups of immigrant children and youth fare better than others. Immigrant and refugee children and youth also have unique attributes and needs that our systems should recognize and address. These needs may require specific interventions such as vaccinations or screening tests to prevent diseases. They may require increased community, professional and public awareness regarding issues that may arise due to cultural or medical ‘discordance’. Discordance can include differences in values, culture, parental expectations, preventative health care, lifestyle or other factors.

This module describes immigrant and refugee children and youth up to 24 years of age in Canada and their overall health status. It specifically identifies priority preventable conditions and diseases among immigrant and refugee children and youth and explores the question of cultural discordance and how this might influence their health and well-being.



Be part of the Profile network

To receive updates on new content, events, resources and much more.

Share us with your social network
CICH Profile

This page is only one section of the CICH Profile. For more interesting data
on children and youth visit http://profile.cich.ca

Visitez le site Web principal ICSI »

Les enfants et les jeunes au Canada - Le contexte de leur vie

Les enfants et les jeunes représentent une portion importante de la population canadienne. Il s’agit d’un groupe très diversifié – non seulement en ce qui a trait à la culture, à l’ethnie, à la structure familiale, et au vécu – mais également au regard des conditions de vie et des possibilités qui s’offrent à eux. De nombreux facteurs façonnent le vécu des enfants et des jeunes au Canada. Dans ce module, vous trouverez des données sur la population et la démographie, décrivant qui sont ces enfants et ces jeunes, et où ils habitent. De plus, ce module contient des faits et chiffres sur la diversité des antécédents des enfants et des jeunes au Canada, leur vie de famille, leur sécurité économique, ainsi que leur parcours scolaire et leur état de santé.



Génétique et santé pédiatrique

Ce module débute par des explications concernant des concepts de génétique tel que le génome, l’hérédité, les gènes et l’ADN. On y présente ensuite un bref examen de l’incidence et de la prévalence des maladies génétiques au Canada. Enfin, il sera question des services offerts aux familles touchées par les maladies génétiques ainsi que leur incidence sur les enfants et leurs parents.

Le dépistage et les tests génétiques sont également abordés en profondeur afin que le lecteur puisse bien comprendre ces notions et se former une opinion quant à l’offre de ces services et de la technologie disponible au Canada dans ce domaine.

On discutera ensuite de la prévalence des anomalies congénitales et des tendances observées, ainsi que d’une enquête menée sur certaines des anomalies congénitales les plus courantes chez les enfants.

Le secteur de la génétique en étant qu’à ses balbutiements, le texte conclut avec la description des questions émergentes dans le domaine qui sont en lien avec la santé et le bien-être des enfants.



Les enfants et les jeunes dans le système de santé

Coming soon - Chapter 3 description (fr)



Profil de la santé des enfants et jeunes immigrants et réfugiés au Canada

La population canadienne des enfants et adolescents est fort diversifiée sur le plan culturel et linguistique, présentant des forces, des attributs et des besoins des plus variés. De façon générale, les enfants et jeunes d’immigration récente font bonne figure au chapitre de la santé. Toutefois, comme la population des enfants et jeunes immigrants et réfugiés n’est pas homogène, certains groupes affichent une meilleure santé que d’autres. Les enfants et jeunes immigrants et réfugiés ont en outre des caractéristiques et des besoins que nos systèmes doivent reconnaître et respecter. Parmi ces besoins, on peut penser à des mesures particulières, comme des vaccins ou tests de dépistage pour empêcher la maladie, ou des activités de sensibilisation communautaire, professionnelle ou publique au phénomène de « dissonance » culturelle ou médicale, c’est-à-dire une certaine discordance entre les valeurs, les cultures, les attentes parentales, les soins de santé préventifs, les habitudes de vie (et autres dimensions) des divers groupes de population.

Le présent module décrit les enfants et jeunes immigrants et réfugiés de 24 ans et moins vivant au Canada ainsi que leur état de santé général. On y cerne également les principales maladies évitables touchant les enfants et jeunes immigrants et réfugiés, en plus d’explorer la question de la dissonance culturelle et la façon dont elle peut influencer la santé et le bien-être de cette population.



Adhérez au Réseau du Profil

Pour recevoir des mises à jour concernant l'ajout de contenu, d'activités spéciales, de ressources et bien plus encore.

Partagez-nous avec votre réseau social
Profil de l'ISCI

La présente page n’est que l’une des sections du profil de l’ICSI. Pour d’autres données intéressantes
sur les enfants et les jeunes, consultez http://profile.cich.ca