Visit the main CICH web site »
Download as PDF Download as PowerPoint

Health Profile on Immigrant and Refugee Children and Youth in Canada

Canadian children and youth are culturally and linguistically diverse, bringing many different strengths, attributes and needs to their communities. Overall, children and youth who are recent immigrants fare well in Canada in terms of health status. However, the overall population of immigrant and refugee children and youth is not homogeneous - and certain groups of immigrant children and youth fare better than others. Immigrant and refugee children and youth also have unique attributes and needs that our systems should recognize and address. These needs may require specific interventions such as vaccinations or screening tests to prevent diseases. They may require increased community, professional and public awareness regarding issues that may arise due to cultural or medical ‘discordance’. Discordance can include differences in values, culture, parental expectations, preventative health care, lifestyle or other factors.

This module describes immigrant and refugee children and youth up to 24 years of age in Canada and their overall health status. It specifically identifies priority preventable conditions and diseases among immigrant and refugee children and youth and explores the question of cultural discordance and how this might influence their health and well-being.


Suggested Citation and Contributors

Suggested Citation and Contributors

This short section includes information about how to cite this module and a list of the module contributors.

Section 1: Immigrant and Refugee Children and Youth in Canada

Section 1: Immigrant and Refugee Children and Youth in Canada

A number of factors influence the lives that immigrant and refugee children and youth will lead in Canada. Among these are their country of origin, their reason for emigrating, the location of their new home in Canada, and their age upon arrival. This section explores these factors and illustrates the diversity of children and youth who are new to Canada.

Section 2: General Health Status of Immigrant Children and Youth

Section 2: General Health Status of Immigrant Children and Youth

Examining the health status of immigrant children and youth is complex. Their health is influenced by many factors − biology; genetics; their experience and living conditions in their home country; their physical, social, and economic living conditions in Canada; and their access to services, including health and resettlement services. This section explores the general health status of immigrant children and youth in Canada using a variety of indicators.

Section 3: Priority Health Conditions Among Immigrant Children and Youth

Section 3: Priority Health Conditions Among Immigrant Children and Youth

The data in section 2 show that overall, the health of immigrant children and youth in Canada is on par or slightly better than that of their Canadian born counterparts. However, within the overall population of immigrant children and youth, certain sub-groups are at increased risk of various threats to their health and well-being. The prevalence of disease differs with exposure, migration patterns, living conditions, and genetic predispositions. The priority health conditions among immigrant children and youth were based on the evidence-based Canadian Immigrant Health Guidelines.

Section 4: Immigrant Children and Youth – Cultural Discordance

Section 4: Immigrant Children and Youth – Cultural Discordance

This section describes cultural discordance - the perceived conflict between a child’s or youth’s culture of origin and the Canadian culture into which he or she has been immersed. It also describes the various repercussions that children and youth may face as a result of this discordance.

Section 5: Summary

Section 5: Summary

This section briefly summarizes some of the challenges and priority health conditions facing children, youth and families new to Canada.



Be part of the Profile network

To receive updates on new content, events, resources and much more.

Share us with your social network
CICH Profile

This page is only one section of the CICH Profile. For more interesting data
on children and youth visit http://profile.cich.ca

Visitez le site Web principal ICSI »
Télécharger en format PDF Télécharger en format PowerPoint

Profil de la santé des enfants et jeunes immigrants et réfugiés au Canada

La population canadienne des enfants et adolescents est fort diversifiée sur le plan culturel et linguistique, présentant des forces, des attributs et des besoins des plus variés. De façon générale, les enfants et jeunes d’immigration récente font bonne figure au chapitre de la santé. Toutefois, comme la population des enfants et jeunes immigrants et réfugiés n’est pas homogène, certains groupes affichent une meilleure santé que d’autres. Les enfants et jeunes immigrants et réfugiés ont en outre des caractéristiques et des besoins que nos systèmes doivent reconnaître et respecter. Parmi ces besoins, on peut penser à des mesures particulières, comme des vaccins ou tests de dépistage pour empêcher la maladie, ou des activités de sensibilisation communautaire, professionnelle ou publique au phénomène de « dissonance » culturelle ou médicale, c’est-à-dire une certaine discordance entre les valeurs, les cultures, les attentes parentales, les soins de santé préventifs, les habitudes de vie (et autres dimensions) des divers groupes de population.

Le présent module décrit les enfants et jeunes immigrants et réfugiés de 24 ans et moins vivant au Canada ainsi que leur état de santé général. On y cerne également les principales maladies évitables touchant les enfants et jeunes immigrants et réfugiés, en plus d’explorer la question de la dissonance culturelle et la façon dont elle peut influencer la santé et le bien-être de cette population.


Contributeurs et références suggérées

Contributeurs et références suggérées

Cette courte section présente les noms des personnes qui ont contribué à la conception du présent document, et indique comment citer ce rapport dans d’autres ouvrages.

Section 1 : Les enfants et jeunes immigrants et réfugiés au Canada

Section 1 : Les enfants et jeunes immigrants et réfugiés au Canada

Plusieurs facteurs influencent la vie que mèneront les enfants et les jeunes immigrants et réfugiés au Canada, dont leur pays d’origine, la raison de leur immigration, l’endroit où ils vivent au pays et leur âge à leur arrivée. Cette section explore ces facteurs, illustrant ainsi la diversité des enfants et jeunes néo-canadiens.

Section 2 : L’état de santé général des enfants et jeunes immigrants

Section 2 : L’état de santé général des enfants et jeunes immigrants

Examiner l’état de santé des enfants et jeunes immigrants est un exercice complexe. La santé de cette population est influencée par de nombreux facteurs, comme la biologie, la génétique, leurs expériences antérieures, les conditions de vie dans leur pays d’origine, leur statut social, économique et physique ici au Canada, et leur accès aux services, notamment aux soins de santé et aux services de soutien et de réinstallation. Cette section brosse un tableau de l’état de santé des enfants et jeunes immigrants au moyen d’une variété d’indicateurs.

Section 3 : Les maladies et états de santé les plus préoccupants chez les enfants et jeunes immigrants

Section 3 : Les maladies et états de santé les plus préoccupants chez les enfants et jeunes immigrants

Les données présentées à la section 2 indiquent que, de façon générale, la santé des enfants et jeunes immigrants au Canada est sensiblement semblable ou légèrement meilleure que leurs homologues nés au pays. Toutefois, parmi la population des enfants et jeunes immigrants, certains sous-groupes sont plus à risque de voir leur santé et le bien-être menacés. La prévalence de certaines maladies diffère en effet en fonction de l’exposition à certains facteurs, des tendances migratoires et des prédispositions génétiques. Les états de santé les plus préoccupants chez les enfants et jeunes immigrants sont ceux cernés dans les diverses lignes directrices canadiennes visant la santé des immigrants fondées sur des faits probants.

Section 4 : La dissonance culturelle et les enfants et jeunes immigrants

Section 4 : La dissonance culturelle et les enfants et jeunes immigrants

Cette section décrit la dissonance culturelle qu’éprouvent les enfants et jeunes immigrants, c’est-à-dire l’écart qu’ils perçoivent entre la culture de leur pays d’origine et la culture canadienne dans laquelle ils sont soudainement plongés. On y décrit aussi les diverses répercussions de cette dissonance pour les jeunes néo-canadiens.

Section 5 : Sommaire

Section 5 : Sommaire

Cette section résume brièvement certaines des difficultés et états de santé prioritaires auxquels sont confrontés les enfants, les jeunes et les familles nouvellement arrivés au Canada.



Adhérez au Réseau du Profil

Pour recevoir des mises à jour concernant l'ajout de contenu, d'activités spéciales, de ressources et bien plus encore.

Partagez-nous avec votre réseau social
Profil de l'ISCI

La présente page n’est que l’une des sections du profil de l’ICSI. Pour d’autres données intéressantes
sur les enfants et les jeunes, consultez http://profile.cich.ca