Visit the main CICH web site »
Download as PDF Download as PowerPoint

Genetics and Paediatric Health

This module begins with a Genetics Primer that explains genetic concepts such as the genome, inheritance, genes, and DNA. The module goes on to provide a brief examination of the incidence and prevalence of gene-related conditions in Canada. It then describes how genetic services are organized in Canada and the resulting implications for children and families.

Genetic testing and screening are considered in detail to provide the reader with both an understanding of these concepts and an appreciation of the genetic testing and screening programs and technology that are available in Canada.

The module continues with a description of prevalence and trends of congenital anomalies and an investigation of some of the congenital anomalies that are most common among children.

Genetics is a burgeoning field, so the module concludes with a discussion of some of the emerging issues in genetics that are influencing genetics and children’s health and wellbeing.


Suggested Reference and Contributors

Suggested Reference and Contributors

This short section includes information on how to reference this module and a list of the module contributors.

Section 1: A Genetics Primer

Section 1: A Genetics Primer

Genetics and children’s health are complex. This short primer provides some basic information that will be helpful when exploring the module. There are links to additional information for those who want more!

Section 2: Genetic Conditions

Section 2: Genetic Conditions

A genetic condition is caused by one or more abnormalities in the genome. This section includes descriptions of the three main types of genetic conditions: chromosomal conditions, single gene (monogenic) conditions and complex conditions.

Section 3: Genetic Services

Section 3: Genetic Services

Whether it be about genetic testing, screening, or a diagnosis, patients and their families confront complicated issues and have many questions. This section describes the services offered to them and the professionals who offer these services.

Section 4: Genetic Testing and Screening

Section 4: Genetic Testing and Screening

Genetic testing and screening are two different things, each playing an important role in the detection of genetic conditions. This section describes where, when, and how the genetic testing and screening are performed and includes data on diagnoses in Canada.

Section 5: Congenital Anomalies

Section 5: Congenital Anomalies

This section contains on overview of congenital anomalies and describes in more detail three of the most common congenital anomalies: Down syndrome, neural tube defects, and congenital heart defects.

Section 6: Alcohol – A Teratogen

Section 6: Alcohol – A Teratogen

The human epigenome responds to the environment in a very dynamic fashion. For example, toxic exposure, stress, diet, and other factors influence chemical “switches” that control gene expression. Teratogens are one of these factors, and alcohol is a common teratogen. Alcohol as a teratogen will be the focus of this section.

Section 7: Emerging Issues

Section 7: Emerging Issues

As genetics is a burgeoning field, this section focuses on some of the emerging issues in genetics that are influencing genetics and children’s health and wellbeing.

Section 8: Summary

Section 8: Summary

This section reviews important facts about genetics and paediatric health in Canada and points to steps that must be taken to ensure that children are given the best start possible.

Glossary

Glossary

There are several medical and technical terms used throughout this module that might be new to many people. To help with readers' comprehension of the module, this glossary includes definitions of many of these terms.



Be part of the Profile network

To receive updates on new content, events, resources and much more.

Share us with your social network
CICH Profile

This page is only one section of the CICH Profile. For more interesting data
on children and youth visit http://profile.cich.ca

Visitez le site Web principal ICSI »
Télécharger en format PDF Télécharger en format PowerPoint

Génétique et santé pédiatrique

Ce module débute par des explications concernant des concepts de génétique tel que le génome, l’hérédité, les gènes et l’ADN. On y présente ensuite un bref examen de l’incidence et de la prévalence des maladies génétiques au Canada. Enfin, il sera question des services offerts aux familles touchées par les maladies génétiques ainsi que leur incidence sur les enfants et leurs parents.

Le dépistage et les tests génétiques sont également abordés en profondeur afin que le lecteur puisse bien comprendre ces notions et se former une opinion quant à l’offre de ces services et de la technologie disponible au Canada dans ce domaine.

On discutera ensuite de la prévalence des anomalies congénitales et des tendances observées, ainsi que d’une enquête menée sur certaines des anomalies congénitales les plus courantes chez les enfants.

Le secteur de la génétique en étant qu’à ses balbutiements, le texte conclut avec la description des questions émergentes dans le domaine qui sont en lien avec la santé et le bien-être des enfants.


Référence suggérée et liste des contributeurs

Référence suggérée et liste des contributeurs

Cette section inclut de l'information pour aider à faire référence à ce module et liste les personnes qui ont contribué au contenu.

Section 1: Notions fondamentales de la génétique

Section 1: Notions fondamentales de la génétique

Le rapport entre la génétique et la santé des enfants est une question complexe. La section qui suit offre de l’information qui sera utile au moment de continuer l’exploration du module. Ceux qui voudront approfondir leur lecture peuvent cliquer sur les liens proposés.

Section 2: Maladies génétiques

Section 2: Maladies génétiques

Une maladie génétique est causée par une ou plusieurs anomalies au niveau du génome. Dans cette section, on décrit les trois principaux types de maladies génétiques, soit les anomalies chromosomiques, les maladies monogéniques et les maladies génétiques complexes.

Section 3: Services en génétique

Section 3: Services en génétique

Que ce soit au sujet du dépistage et des tests génétiques ou d'un diagnostic, les patients et familles sont confrontés à des questions complexes et nécessitent de l'information. Dans cette section, on décrit les services disponibles et les professionnels qui les offrent,

Section 4: Dépistage et tests génétiques

Section 4: Dépistage et tests génétiques

Le dépistage et les tests génétiques sont deux choses bien différentes, chacune ayant un rôle important dans la détection de conditions génétiques. Cette section fait un survol d'où, quand, et comment le dépistage et les tests génétiques sont fait et inclut des données sur les diagnostics au Canada.

Section 5: Anomalies congénitales

Section 5: Anomalies congénitales

Cette section fait un survol des anomalies congénitales et décrit, de manière plus détaillée, trois des anomalies congénitales les plus fréquentes: le syndrome de Down, les anomalies du tube neural, et les malformations cardiaques congénitales.

Section 6: L'alcool - un agent tératogène

Section 6: L'alcool - un agent tératogène

L’épigénome humain répond à l’environnement de manière très dynamique. Par exemple, une exposition à des produits toxiques, le stress, l’alimentation, ainsi que d’autres facteurs influencent les « modifications » qui contrôlent l’expression des gènes. Les agents tératogènes sont l’un de ces facteurs. Cette section porte sur l'alcool, un agent tératogène courant.

Section 7: Questions émergentes

Section 7: Questions émergentes

Comme le secteur de la génétique n'est qu’à ses balbutiements, cette section aborde les questions émergentes en génétique et influençant la santé et le bien-être des enfants.

Section 8: Résumé

Section 8: Résumé

Dans cette section, on passe en revue les faits importants par rapport à la génétique et la santé des enfants et des jeunes. On fait état des étapes qui sont nécessaires afin de garantir que les enfants et les jeunes bénéficient du « meilleur départ » possible.

Glossaire

Glossaire

Plusieurs termes médicaux et techniques utilisés dans ce module peuvent être difficules à comprendre. Afin d'aider la compréhension du module, ce glossaire définit plusieurs de ces termes.



Adhérez au Réseau du Profil

Pour recevoir des mises à jour concernant l'ajout de contenu, d'activités spéciales, de ressources et bien plus encore.

Partagez-nous avec votre réseau social
Profil de l'ISCI

La présente page n’est que l’une des sections du profil de l’ICSI. Pour d’autres données intéressantes
sur les enfants et les jeunes, consultez http://profile.cich.ca