Visit the main CICH web site »
Download as PDF Download as PowerPoint

Children and Youth in Canada - The Context of their Lives

Children and youth make up a substantial portion of the Canadian population. They are a very diverse group – not only with regards to their culture, ethnicity, family structure, experiences – but also with regards to their living conditions and opportunities. There are numerous factors shaping the experiences of children and youth in Canada. In this module you will find population and demographic data describing who the children and youth are and where they live. As well, this module contains facts and figures presenting the diverse backgrounds of children and youth in Canada, their family life, economic security, education and health outcomes.


Section 1: The Children and Youth of Canada

Section 1: The Children and Youth of Canada

Children and youth make up a significant part of the entire population and understanding their distribution and composition is important. This section presents the changing demographics of Canada’s children and youth including the growing Aboriginal population.

Section 2: Family Life

Section 2: Family Life

Family life in Canada is diverse. While the majority of children and youth live with two-parents, the structure of the family unit has changed over time. Family life and employment of family members has an impact on housing, food security and basic determinants of healthy child development. This section presents data on the structure of the family, an overview of living arrangements and the impact of work on family life.

Section 3: Health Outcomes

Section 3: Health Outcomes

Most children and youth in Canada live healthy lives, but some children and youth experience negative health outcomes. This section highlights causes of death, hospitalizations, injuries, disability, mental health, environmental health and lifestyle impacts; all areas pertaining to the health outcomes of Canadian children and youth.

Section 4: Economic Inequities

Section 4: Economic Inequities

This section presents an overview of the familial economic and employment situation across Canada. The percentage of Canadian children and youth living in poverty has decreased in recent decades, yet there are still many living in low-income households.

Section 5: International Comparisons

Section 5: International Comparisons

It is important to look at how Canadian children and youth are doing compared to children and youth in other countries around the world. Comparisons help determine what Canada needs to do better regarding children’s health and well-being.



Be part of the Profile network

To receive updates on new content, events, resources and much more.

Share us with your social network
CICH Profile

This page is only one section of the CICH Profile. For more interesting data
on children and youth visit http://profile.cich.ca

Visitez le site Web principal ICSI »
Télécharger en format PDF Télécharger en format PowerPoint

Les enfants et les jeunes au Canada - Le contexte de leur vie

Les enfants et les jeunes représentent une portion importante de la population canadienne. Il s’agit d’un groupe très diversifié – non seulement en ce qui a trait à la culture, à l’ethnie, à la structure familiale, et au vécu – mais également au regard des conditions de vie et des possibilités qui s’offrent à eux. De nombreux facteurs façonnent le vécu des enfants et des jeunes au Canada. Dans ce module, vous trouverez des données sur la population et la démographie, décrivant qui sont ces enfants et ces jeunes, et où ils habitent. De plus, ce module contient des faits et chiffres sur la diversité des antécédents des enfants et des jeunes au Canada, leur vie de famille, leur sécurité économique, ainsi que leur parcours scolaire et leur état de santé.


Section 1: Les enfants et les jeunes au Canada

Section 1: Les enfants et les jeunes au Canada

Les enfants et les jeunes représentent une portion importante de la population canadienne. Il s’agit d’un groupe très diversifié – non seulement en ce qui a trait à la culture, à l’ethnie, à la structure familiale, et au vécu – mais également au regard des conditions de vie et des possibilités qui s’offrent à eux.

Section 2: Vie familiale

Section 2: Vie familiale

Au Canada, la vie de famille prend diverses formes. Bien que la majorité des enfants et des jeunes vivent avec leurs deux parents, la structure de la cellule familiale a changé au fil du temps. La vie de famille et le travail des membres de la famille ont une incidence sur le logement, la sécurité alimentaire et les déterminants de base de la santé et du développement de l'enfant. Cette section présente des données

Section 3: Résultats en matière de santé

Section 3: Résultats en matière de santé

Au Canada, la plupart des enfants et des jeunes sont en bonne santé, mais certains d’entre eux éprouvent des problèmes. Cette section dresse un tableau des causes de décès, d’hospitalisation, de blessures, de handicaps, de problèmes de santé mentale, et traite de santé environnementale et de l’incidence du mode de vie sur la santé des enfants.

Section 4: Inégalités économiques

Section 4: Inégalités économiques

Cette section fait le survol de la situation familiale au Canada sur le plan économique et de l’emploi. Si le pourcentage d’enfants et de jeunes vivant dans la pauvreté a diminué au cours des dernières décennies, ces derniers sont encore nombreux à vivre dans des ménages à faible revenu.

Section 5: Comparaisons internationales

Section 5: Comparaisons internationales

Il est important de comparer le Canada à d’autres pays au chapitre de la situation des enfants et des jeunes. Les comparaisons nous aident à déterminer ce dont le Canada a besoin pour améliorer la santé et le bien-être de ses enfants.



Adhérez au Réseau du Profil

Pour recevoir des mises à jour concernant l'ajout de contenu, d'activités spéciales, de ressources et bien plus encore.

Partagez-nous avec votre réseau social
Profil de l'ISCI

La présente page n’est que l’une des sections du profil de l’ICSI. Pour d’autres données intéressantes
sur les enfants et les jeunes, consultez http://profile.cich.ca